RSS

Prime Leadership!

21 Oct

While Men Slept

Hey guys, how have you all been, great I believe. I have been great too. I just had my drama night in school after much postponement, and for that I’m really glad and thank God for His help and faithfulness. I’ll tell you this without a doubt, “God takes care of His Own”, it doesn’t matter whether or not it’s a he/she, a property, or whatever it is, once you make the claim that it is God’s, He steps in and takes care of everything. My Life Belongs To you O Lord! (You might want to say yours too).

That was by way of introduction, what I really want to write about is the place of leaders in this age and how much people are seeking for true leadership, someone to literarily lead the way, someone to tell them which direction to Go. I must concur with Karl Marx at this point, he said “Religion is the opium of the people”, that is true because I can’t imagine a world without a Jesus said this and as Christians, it’s expected of us to obey or a world where the words of the holy prophet (SAW) is not there to guide people. It would be chaos! But then Nature Abhors a Vacuum, something would have filled that space up in no time.

As some of you might know, I’m in my final year in school and I was the drama coordinator of my fellowship (Winners Campus Fellowship @wcfui on twitter), I recently handed over. Almost all fellowships form a forum of all final year students, and a day was dedicated to us finalists, so for weeks now, we’ve been rehearsing for our Finalist Sunday! Automatically, I was put in charge of the drama to be ministered on that day. I twiddled a little while but I got to writing the script too close to my test and I was unable to cogitate for too long without thinking of my test, so I wrote the first thought that came to mind. And the drama was a classically dry one, I didn’t need to be told, I knew it was. But we had no choice so I submitted it like that and ran away to face my drama night (yes I admit I ran).

On the final day of rehearsals, I had concluded that we were not going to act that drama, either we had a replacement or we don’t act. Not acting on its own is like breaking a 17 year old custom, but I was willing to risk breaking that than to appear a mediocre. Everyone kept asking me ‘how far’ with the drama, I wasn’t in any mood so I was just faking the smiles and nodding. But then, more people were asking how far? Then I got to thinking, the person in charge of songs came up with a beautiful song to sing, the dance guys had done a marvelous job with the choreography, and here I was giving the sanest and worldwide acceptable excuse any writer could give “I had Writers block”. I mean it was perfectly acceptable, I had writers block for Christ’s sake, how was a new script supposed to appear? So I sat there, put my feet up, and was gisting with someone who perfectly understood my situation. Everything was ok, but then I noticed, time was ticking and the problem isn’t going anywhere.

That was when I realized failure is not an option, and no drama means that I failed in my charge. So I did the smart thing, called for outside help! Holyparcel I called and instantly he answered, I presented my problem to him, including my Writers block, I couldn’t write does not mean I can think. As a leader, you should be too proud to fail and never too proud to call for outside help so far it guarantees success. A true leader should be as objective as possible, know when to remove yourself and you inadequacies from the equation and do what you have to do, recruit essential personnel to achieve the goal before you. So Holyparcel had an idea, which was skeletal, so I went to the front of everybody, acknowledged the wackiness of the previous script, mind you I gave no excuse for it, though I had a rather tenable one. I had to write 7 tests in 4 days! But what is past is past. I relayed Holyparcel’s idea to everyone, and together we filled it up. Everyone was on a roll after that and even though it was around 4am in the morning, everyone was contributing and before you know it, our drama was ready, we even had fun doing it.

I’ll start by telling what I learnt from this episode, and you add yours too. No single person can see it all.

So the first thing I learnt is, no excuse is acceptable,

Failure is not an option.

It doesn’t matter who came up with the idea as long as we are a team because Together Everybody Achieves More!

When you take the initiative, people will follow you, but you have to take it first or else, it’ll remain dormant.

Even when the excuse is tenable and acceptable, don’t accept it. Nobody gets to the top without being hard on him or herself. Don’t cut yourself too much slack.

You have to rise to the occasion, it’s in you!

What else did you learn friends? Please share! Perhaps I might learn more!

follow me on twitter @overlordnoni

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Prime Leadership!

  1. galbehindlens

    October 25, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    Good piece. Inspiring!

     

Please, your comment will be well appreciated. Drop It

 
